fbpx

Démontrer les histoires des réfugiés et des nouveaux arrivants

Jeunesse Ottawa et le UNHCR se sont associés pour partager les histoires marquantes des réfugiés à Ottawa.

Nous avons interviewé des réfugiés de tous les horizons, de 18 ans et 45 ans afin de partager leurs propres histoires personnelles de résilience et de surmonter l'adversité. Ce projet aborde le thème des expériences des jeunes réfugiés au Canada avec l'espoir que ces vidéos seront utilisées pour aider à encourager l’engagement / l’implication significative des jeunes, des problèmes rencontrés des réfugiés et à mieux comprendre les défis auxquels ces jeunes réfugiés sont confrontés une fois qu'ils sont réinstallés au Canada. 

Les histoires ci-dessous ne sont que quelques-unes des voix des réfugiés dans notre communauté.

Nour Abdullah

Nour est étudiante à l'Université Carleton. Elle est nageuse, basketteuse et adore jouer du piano. Elle est bénévole pour une organisation sportive qui soutient les enfants vivant dans des logements sociaux et enseigne l'arabe aux enfants dans le cadre d'un programme de langue. Elle est née et a grandi dans la ville d'Alep et est arrivée au Canada en tant que réfugiée en 2017.

Nour nous fait part de son histoire ci-dessous.

Ibrahim Musa

Ibrahim est le fondateur de la Fondation ¨Cuts For Kids¨, qui fait la promotion de la dignité grâce à l'accès à l'égalité des chances en mettant les jeunes en contact avec les services essentiels - en commençant par une coupe de cheveux ou un coiffeur. La mission personnelle d’Ibrahim est d’atténuer les barrières socio-économiques qui affectent les jeunes, nés de sa propre expérience en arrivant au Canada en 2002 en tant que réfugié d’Irak.

Ibrahim nous fait part de son histoire ci-dessous.

Mouhamed Al-Arab

Mouhamed est étudiant à l'Université Carleton en génie aérospatial. Mouhamed a remporté le prix de la persévérance académique décerné par Jeunesse Ottawa en 2018. Il est arrivé au Canada en 2016 en tant que réfugié syrien.

Mohamed nous fait part de son histoire ci-dessous.

Amplifying the stories of refugees & newcomers

Youth Ottawa and the UNHCR have teamed up to share the powerful stories of refugees in Ottawa.

We interviewed refugees from all walks of life, as a young as 18 and as old as 45 to share their own personal stories of resilience and overcoming adversity. This project addresses the theme of refugee youth experiences within Canada with the hope that these videos will be used to help encourage meaningful youth engagement/involvement in refugee issues and create more understanding of the challenges refugee youth face once they are resettled in Canada. 

The stories below are just a few of the voices of refugees in our community.

Youth Ottawa is proud to partner with organizations such as the UNHCR who are working to protect and aid individuals who are forced to flee their homes due to violence, conflict and persecution. 

To learn more about the UNHCR, it’s mission and mandate visit www.unhcr.ca or www.unhcr.org

Nour Abdullah

Nour  is a student at Carleton University. She is a swimmer, a basketball player, and loves to play the piano. She volunteers for a sports organization that supports children living in low-income housing and teaches Arabic to children in a language program. She was born and raised in the city of Aleppo and came to Canada as a refugee in 2017.

Nour shares her story with us below.

Ibrahim
Musa

Ibrahim is the Founder of the Cuts For Kids Foundation, which promotes dignity through access to equal opportunities by connecting youth to essential services – starting with a haircut or style. Ibrahim’s personal mission is to alleviate socio-economic barriers affecting youth, born out of his own experiences arriving in Canada in 2002 as a refugee from Iraq.

Ibrahim shares his story with us below.

Mouhamed Al-Arab

Mouhamed is a student at Carleton University studying Aerospace Engineering. Mouhamad won the Academic Perseverance award by Youth Ottawa in 2018. He arrived in Canada in 2016 as a refugee from Syria.

Mohamed Shares his story with us below. 

Fares Elsabbagh

Fares came to Canada as a youth in 1993 due to the gulf war in Kuwait. Fares is now running his own company here in Ottawa. 

Fares shares his story as a youth refugee with us below.